FURTHERMORE  grants in publishing

a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund

Furthermore supports publication of nonfiction books that concern the arts, history, and the natural and built environment. Grant applications are accepted twice a year with deadlines of March 1 and September 1. Since its inception, the program has assisted more than 1,300 books with grants that total almost $7 million.

The $25,000 Alice Award administered by Furthermore is given annually to a richly illustrated book that makes a valuable contribution to its field and demonstrates high standards of production. Books selected by the award jury for the Alice Short List each receive $5,000. The submission process opens 1 January and closes 1 April each year.

The J.M. Kaplan Fund was established in 1945 by businessman and philanthropist Jacob Merrill Kaplan (1891–1987), who was its president until 1977. Today the Fund is managed by an Operating Board that consists of J. M. Kaplan’s seven grandchildren. Peter Davidson chairs the Board. Executive director Amy Freitag leads program staff.

Joan K. Davidson has been involved with the Fund for most of her adult life. She served as its president from 1977 until 1993, when she was appointed commissioner of the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation. In 1995, as president emeritus of the Fund, she founded its Furthermore grants in publishing program.



Copyright ©2014-2021 FURTHERMORE grants in publishing                                                                                                                                       Design by Parrilla Design Workshop

Post Office Box 667, Hudson, NY, 12534    Telephone: 518/828-8900