FURTHERMORE  grants in publishing

a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund

The 2020 Alice Award

The 2020 Alice was awarded to the book Infinite Cities: A Trilogy of Atlases – San Francisco, New Orleans, New York. Published by the University of California Press.

The Alice 2020 jury:

R.O. Blechman, Illustrator

Teresa Carbone, Program Director for American Art, Henry Luce Foundation

David R. Godine, Publisher

Sharon Helgason Gallagher, President & Publisher, Artbook/D.A.P.

William P. Kelly, Andrew W. Mellon Director, Research Libraries, NY Public Library

Max Rudin, President & Publisher, The Library of America

Ian Wardropper, Director, The Frick Collection

Chair: Jock Reynolds, Former Director, Yale University Art Gallery

The Alice 2020 short list:

  • Alexander von Humboldt and the United States: Art, Nature, and Culture
    Smithsonian American Art Museum. Washington, DC
  • The Curious World of Seaweed
    Heyday. Berkeley, CA
  • Fishes of the Salish Sea: Puget Sound and the Straits of Georgia and Juan de Fuca
    University of Washington Press. Seattle, WA
  • Shinto: Discovery of the Divine in Japanese Art
    Cleveland Museum of Art. Cleveland, OH


The Alice was presented virtually by Joan K. Davidson on October 2020 in
New York City.

Alice awardees

Alice (pdf)


Copyright ©2014-2021 FURTHERMORE grants in publishing                                                                                                                                       Design by Parrilla Design Workshop

Post Office Box 667, Hudson, NY, 12534    Telephone: 518/828-8900