FURTHERMORE  grants in publishing

a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund

The 2019 Alice Award

The 2019 Alice was awarded to the Halsey Institute of Contemporary Art, College of Charleston for the book Southbound: Photographs of and about the New South. Edited by Mark Sloan and Mark Long and published by the Halsey Institute of Contemporary Art.

The Alice 2019 jury:

R.O. Blechman, Illustrator

Teresa Carbone, Program Director for American Art, Henry Luce Foundation

Paula Cooper, Director, Paula Cooper Gallery

David R. Godine, Publisher

Sharon Helgason Gallagher, President & Publisher, Artbook/D.A.P.

Ian Wardropper, Director, Frick Collection

Chair: Jock Reynolds, Former Director, Yale University Art Gallery

The Alice was presented by Joan K. Davidson on October 2019 in New York City.

The Alice 2019 short list:

  • Artists and Their Books/Books and Their Artists

         by Marcia Reed and Glenn Phillips. Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles, CA


  • Caravans of Gold, Fragments in Time: Art, Culture, and Exchange across Medieval Saharan Africa.
    Edited by Kathleen Bickford Berzock. Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL

Alice awardees

Alice (pdf)


Copyright ©2014-2021 FURTHERMORE grants in publishing                                                                                                                                       Design by Parrilla Design Workshop

Post Office Box 667, Hudson, NY, 12534    Telephone: 518/828-8900