FURTHERMORE  grants in publishing

a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund


The Alice Award





In 2013, Joan K. Davidson, president of Furthermore, established the Alice award to honor her mother, Alice Manheim Kaplan.  Alice loved and collected the illustrated book as a work of art in itself and an essential document of a civilized society.

The $25,000 Alice award is given annually to an illustrated book that makes a valuable contribution to its field and demonstrates high standards of production.  Fields considered include the fine arts and the natural and built environments and related public issues.

The award is intended to buttress the kind of slow reading movement that recognizes and cherishes the lasting values of the well-made illustrated book, and the special sense of intimacy it affords.

The organization submitting the book must be a 501(c)3 and have acted as a partner in the book’s production.  Organizations may submit up to two books annually.  Books published in the year prior and up to the submission deadline will be considered.

Deadline for submission is 1 April 2017.  Besides submitting the brief online form, two copies of the book must be mailed to the Furthermore offices postmarked April 1 at the latest.

The portal to the online submission form can be found here.

Please note:  Any book previously given a Furthermore grant will be automatically considered for the Alice award.  There is no need to complete the submission procedure.

Copyright ©2014-2016 FURTHERMORE grants in publishing

Post Office Box 667, Hudson, NY, 12534    Telephone: 518/828-8900    Fax: 518/828-8901