FURTHERMORE  grants in publishing

a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund

About Us

The J.M. Kaplan Fund was established in 1945 by businessman and philanthropist Jacob Merrill Kaplan (1891–1987), who was its president until 1977.  Today the Fund is managed by an Operating Board that consists of J. M. Kaplan’s seven grandchildren.  Peter Davidson chairs the Board. Executive director Amy Freitag leads program staff.

Joan K. Davidson has been involved with the Fund for most of her adult life.  She served as its president from 1977 until 1993, when she was appointed commissioner of the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation.  In 1995, as president emeritus of the Fund, she founded its Furthermore grants in publishing program, which she continues to lead today.

Furthermore is one of very few philanthropic programs that specifically support printed and illustrated books.  Applications are reviewed by a group of scholars, publishers, and individuals; they collectively identify the projects that receive Furthermore grants.

Ann Birckmayer has served as the administrator of Furthermore since 1998.

Copyright ©2014-2017 FURTHERMORE grants in publishing

Post Office Box 667, Hudson, NY, 12534    Telephone: 518/828-8900